Book Review: David Weber and Eric Flint’s Changer of Worlds

Posted January 13, 2011 by Kathy Davie in Book Reviews

I received this book for free from the library in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Review: David Weber and Eric Flint’s Changer of WorldsChanger of Worlds by David Weber, Eric Flint
is a Military Science Fiction
in the Honorverse #10.5, Honor Harrington #9.5, series.
This edition was published by Baen Books on February 1, 2002 in paperback and has 469 pages.

Explore it on Goodreads or Amazon..

Other books in this series include Worlds of Honor, Fire Season, Worlds of Weber: Ms. Midshipwoman Harrington and Other Stories, Beginnings, Treecat Wars

Four short stories in the Honorverse military science fiction series.


Worlds of Honor, 3 (Anthology)

Chronological Placement within the Honorverse

“Ms. Midshipwoman Harrington” (Honor Harrington, 0.5)
“Changer of Worlds” (Honor Harrington, 6.5)
“From the Highlands” (Honor Harrington, 9.5)
“Nightfall” (Honor Harrington, 8.5??)

The Stories

Ms. Midshipwoman Harrington” (also in Worlds of Weber) is Honor’s snotty cruise on board War Maiden with Captain Bachfiisch where she first encounters Elvis Santino.

Changer of Worlds” provides background on Nimitz and Samantha’s visit to his Bright Water clan on Sphinx which sets in motion the emigration of the treecats. The action occurs after the kits are born and before they all head back to Grayson.

From the Highlands” provides the background on young Helen Zilwicki’s kidnapping in Chicago, the adoption of Berry and Lars, and Anton Zilwicki’s taking up with Cathy, the Countess of Tor, and the Anti-Slavery League after providing both Cathy and Jeremy X with proof of Manticoran involvement in Manpower.

Victor Cachat hooks up with Kevin and Ginny Usher. And Admiral Parnell, late of the prison break engineered by Honor, is arriving in Sol to testify against the Peeps.

Nightfall” is a non-essential story that summarizes what has been written elsewhere in which Esther McQueen attempts her coup, gets Rob Pierre killed, and the Octagon blown up with Saint-Just left in charge.


Leave a Reply