Charlaine Harris, Dead Reckoning

Posted June 14, 2011 by Kathy Davie in

Dead Reckoning (Sookie Stackhouse, #11)Dead Reckoning by Charlaine Harris
Series: Sookie Stackhouse, 11
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Eleventh in the Sookie Stackhouse urban fantasy series set in a contemporary Bontemps, Louisiana.

The Story
This is not a fun time for Sookie—first the firebomb at Sam’s, then the mini-war going on between Pam and Eric which seems to have something to do with her, several sets of kidnappers, the family history she learns from Gran’s letter and the legacy she left, Jannalyn’s trickery, Amelia’s betrayal, the very odd personnel she meets at Hooligan’s, the real reason why Claude and Dermot are living with her, the truth she learns from Mr. Cataliades, phew… I ain’t even gonna tell you about Eric!

There is a lot going on and most of it is nasty! Irritatingly, this is a bridge novel in which nothing is resolved. I’d’a given it a 4 but I hate bridges…hence the 3.5 rating!

I did appreciate what happened with Victor…even though I have to wait to find out its ramifications in the next book!

The Title
I’m guessing the title, Dead Reckoning is about the reckoning that is still to come and all that Sookie can do is continue to chart her course based upon what has occurred in the past.

View all my reviews