Book Review: David Weber’s Worlds of Honor

Posted December 29, 2010 by Kathy Davie in Book Reviews

I received this book for free from the library in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Review: David Weber’s Worlds of Honor

Worlds of Honor


David Weber

It is part of the Honorverse, series and is a military science fiction that was published by Baen Books on March 1, 2000 and has 407 pages.

Explore it on Goodreads or Amazon.

Other books in this series include Fire Season, Worlds of Weber: Ms. Midshipwoman Harrington and Other Stories, Beginnings, Treecat Wars

Other books by this author which I have reviewed include Mission of Honor, Insurrection, Empire from the Ashes, Changer of Worlds, Torch of Freedom, Hell’s Gate, Hell Hath No Fury, In Fire Forged, In Fury Born, Off Armageddon Reef, By Schism Rent Asunder, Mission of Honor, By Heresies Distressed, A Rising Thunder, A Mighty Fortress, How Firm a Foundation, Fire Season, Midst Toil and Tribulation, Shadow of Freedom, House of Steel, Worlds of Weber: Ms. Midshipwoman Harrington and Other Stories, Beginnings, Like a Mighty Army, Cauldron of Ghosts, Treecat Wars, A Call to Duty, Hell's Foundations Quiver, At the Sign of Triumph

An anthology of five short stories set in the Honorverse and second in the Worlds of Honor anthology series.

The Stories

David Weber‘s “What Price Dreams?” is a fascinating fill-in on how the Crown Princess, Adrienne, was adopted by a treecat.

Brief mentions of Stephanie Harrington as the first adoptee.

He also wrote “Hard Way Home” which has two primary stories. One is of Susan Hibson as a 12-year-old and her dreams of joining the Royal Manticoran Marines while the other is of another of Honor Harrington’s run-ins with one of Pavel Young’s cronies. The two protagonists eventually meet when Honor takes over the search and rescue effort to find skiers buried by an avalanche.

I sure hope someone writes a story where Novaya Tyumen gets creamed…

Linda Evans‘ “Stray” was a sweet story about a doctor’s relationship with his treecat and the biological disaster stopped when a murdered person’s treecat and his clan managed to convey the conspiracy to the doctor. Evans almost has the feel for this. A good story and not as well-written as it could be. We get a better idea of what Stephanie Harrington did as an adult.

Jane Lindskold‘s “Queen’s Gambit” is a fascinating look at King Roger’s assassination and Elizabeth’s ascension to the throne. We briefly meet Mike who even more briefly mentions her friend, Honor. We do learn how Justin inherits Monroe. Nice bit of fill-in on the back story.

Roland J. Green‘s “Deck Load Strike” had the most horrible ending. His story was extremely confusing to follow. although he had a light, subtle touch on the romance which he just smashed into at the end.