Book Review: Jim Butcher’s Mean Streets

Posted March 18, 2011 by Kathy Davie in Book Reviews

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Review: Jim Butcher’s Mean Streets

Mean Streets


Jim Butcher, Kat Richardson, Simon R. Green, Thomas E. Sniegoski

It is part of the , , , series and is a urban fantasy in Paperback edition that was published by ROC on January 6, 2009 and has 352 pages.

Explore it on Goodreads or Amazon.

Other books by this author which I have reviewed include Changes, Side Jobs, Ghost Story, Dark and Stormy Knights, Aftertaste, Hex Appeal, Welcome to the Jungle, Dangerous Women, Storm Front, Grave Peril, Summer Knight, Fool Moon, Cold Days, Skin Game, Blood Rites, Death Masks, Proven Guilty, White Night, Small Favor, Shadowed Souls, Greywalker, Poltergeist, Underground, Vanished, Labyrinth, Downpour, Seawitch, Possession, Revenant, Indigo, Something From the Nightside, Agents of Light and Darkness, Nightingale's Lament, Paths Not Taken, Sharper Than a Serpent's Tooth, Hell to Pay, Just Another Judgement Day, The Good, the Bad, and the Uncanny, A Hard Day's Knight, Hex and the City, The Unnatural Inquirer, The Bride Wore Black Leather, Home Improvement: Undead Edition, Man with the Golden Torc, Daemons are Forever, The Spy Who Haunted Me, From Hell with Love, For Heaven's Eyes Only, Live and Let Drood, Casino Infernale, Blue Moon Rising, Tales of the Hidden World, Blood and Honor, From a Drood to a Kill, The Dark Side of the Road, Dead Man Walking, Very Important Corpses, Moonbreaker, Dr. DOA, A Kiss Before Apocalypse, Where Angels Fear to Tread, A Hundred Words for Hate, Dancing on the Head of a Pin, An Apple for the Creature, In the House of the Wicked, The Fallen, Leviathan, Aerie, Reckoning, Walking in the Midst of Fire, End of Days, A Deafening Silence in Heaven

An anthology of four short stories in four series of urban fantasy.


“The Warrior” (Dresden Files, 10.5)
“Difference a Day Makes” (Nightside, 9.5)
“Third Death of the Little Clay Dog” (Greywalker, 5.5)
“Noah’s Orphans” (Remy Chandler, 1.5)

Jim Butcher‘s “The Warrior” is a part of the Dresden Files paranormal series and occurs after Michael has retired leaving custody of two swords with Harry. A situation profoundly despised by someone who must be a part of the Catholic Church as whom else could possibly know of his/her existence. That someone is trying very hard to get Harry’s attention as they keep sending Harry photos which appear to be stalking Michael’s family. Michael, of course, believes that he’s protected. A belief that is shattered when one of his daughters is kidnapped. A very typical Harry Dresden story.

Simon R. Green‘s “Difference a Day Makes” is part of the Nightside paranormal series with its overtones of Sam Spade. It provides an in-depth look at the weirdness of the Nightside as John Taylor takes on the case of a woman who has lost the past 24 hours of her life and has never heard of the Nightside. A fascinating story with a hint of kink at the end.

Kat Richardson‘s “Third Death of the Little Clay Dog” is part of the Greywalker paranormal series and explores the spiritual nature of the Mexican Day of the Dead festivities. This is the first of the series that I’ve read and I’m of two minds as to exploring it further: Richardson has not written Harper Blaine’s character in such a way that it intrigues me to learn more of her life (death??) and yet she has written this short story with such an interesting twist that I’m curious as to how she treats a full-length story.

Thomas E. Sniegoski‘s “Noah’s Orphans” is good; part of the Remy Chandler paranormal series. This short story intrigues with Noah (from Noah’s ark fame) in modern day feeling guilty for having abandoned a species when he was loading his ark. Having rediscovered the species, Noah fully intends to make it up to them in direct contradiction to how the Grigori feel about it.