Wheel of Time Fans, Take Note

Posted September 10, 2012 by Kathy Davie in Book Reviews

It is part of the , series and is a
Video cover from Dragonmount for the Wheel of Time series

EBook retailers are offering From the Two Rivers for 99 cents at the moment on Kindle, Nook, and iPad).

There is a bonus in purchasing The Eye of the World in two parts: there are illustrations in both books and the added “Ravens” prologue in From the Two Rivers while To the Blight also offers a bigger glossary.

Although, unless your eReader displays in color, I don’t see much point in eBook illustrations…

The reason for splitting the first two books in the WoT series in half is to entice those readers who are intimidated by the heft of the original books.

This truly must be a psychological thing as, if the reader becomes enthralled, s/he’ll still have to read the whole thing…

Y’all know how obsessed I am with chronology, so I’ll just mention that WoT begins with a prequel, New Spring, which brings Lan and Moraine together.

The actual series begins with The Eye of the World which the publishers have split into two eBooks: From the Two Rivers and To the Blight.

Second in the series is The Great Hunt which was split into The Hunt Begins and New Threads in the Pattern.

  1. Dragon Reborn
  2. Shadow Rising
  3. Fires of Heaven
  4. Lord of Chaos
  5. A Crown of Swords
  6. The Path of Daggers
  7. Winter’s Heart
  8. Crossroads of Twilight
    • 10.1 Glimmers simply repeats the prologue to Crossroads of Twilight and is only available as an eBook. It does contain an interview with Jordan and links to resources, but it is NOT new material for the story.
  9. Knife of Dreams
  10. The Gathering Storm
  11. Towers of Midnight
  12. A Memory of Light with an expected publication of January 8, 2013

The Gathering Storm, Towers of Midnight, and A Memory of Light were written by Brandon Sanderson based on a manuscript that Robert Jordan had been working on when he died in 2007. Technically, The Gathering Storm was to have completed the series, but there was so much material that it was expanded to numbers thirteen and fourteen. Yeah for us readers!! More WoT!!