Book Review: Patricia Briggs’ When Demons Walk

Posted January 19, 2011 by Kathy Davie in Book Reviews

I received this book for free from the library in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Review: Patricia Briggs’ When Demons Walk

When Demons Walk


Patricia Briggs

fantasy that was published by Ace Books on June 1, 1998 and has 272 pages.

Explore it on Goodreads or Amazon.

Other books by this author which I have reviewed include Steal the Dragon, Home Improvement: Undead Edition, Fair Game, Frost Burned, Night Broken, Shifting Shadows, Dead Heat, Bone Crossed, Silver Borne, River Marked, Hunting Ground, Iron Kissed, Cry Wolf, Fire Touched, Silence Fallen

Third in the Sianim fantasy series of very loosely connected stories.

My Take

Wow. Patricia Briggs has done it again. This story has all the homeyness and personality I have found in her other series. I’ve fallen in love with Sham and Kerim and am desperately hoping that Briggs will consider another installment.

The only connection any of the books have is the countries involved and the ae’Magi although the Voice of Altis does get a mention in When Demons Walks.

When Demons Walk, does not answer any of the questions raised in Steal the Dragon, 2, although…the instructions sent out by the Voice of Altis in When Demons Walk would seem to support a positive outcome.

The Story

To survive, Sham has spent most of her young life stealing from Southwood’s nobility. Now, as the city’s nobles fall prey to a killer, Sham is called on to help, and must use all of her magical wisdom to send the demon away.

The Characters

Sham is a young thief, mistress, lady, and sorceress whose skills will be called upon.

Southwood is…
…a country plagued by demons.

Cybelle is…
…where the Voice of Altis is the current ruler.